Because French uses a two part negation that wraps the conjugated verb, we get a very different word order. These three negations using plus get me every time:

Ne…plus

This one is used for no longer, or places anymore at the end of the phrase.

Je n’ai plus de lait – I no longer have any milk / I do not have milk anymore.

Il ne peut plus le faire – He can no longer do it / He cannot do it anymore.

Nous n’avons plus de famille – We no longer have any family / I do not have family anymore.

Ne … pas plus

Ne…pas plus is for no more (or places the anymore before the noun). If used with a number Ne…pas plus de is translated as no more than“.

Nous n’avons pas plus de famille – We have no more familyWe do not have anymore family.

Il n’y a pas plus d’un oeuf – There is no more than 1 egg

Ne … plus rien

This one uses plus for no longer/anymore and rien for nothing/anything in English both parts need to be translated:

Je ne peux plus rien manger – I can no longer eat anything / I cannot eat anything any longer.

Je ne vois plus rien – I no longer see anythingI do not see anything anymore

Il ne se soucie plus de rien – He no longer cares about anythingHe doesn’t care about anything anymore.*


*This uses the verb “se soucier de” (to care about something) so the “de” is placed between plus and rien.
